Login | Register

All times are UTC - 7 hours

It is currently 2019-Sep-18 12:04 pm

Post subject: What is key to a more traditional control list?
AgePosted: 2015-Nov-17 11:31 pm 

I admit, I'm not good at slinging spells, and if a list isn't running a chunk of creatures with ETB effects (that count for both a threat and a form of CA for deck space purposes), I struggle with both list direction and finding room to fit everything needed and not feel like low hanging fruit for my opponents (because I usually end up neglecting creatures).

What's the secret? Is it a tonne of board wipes? Lots of draw?

Would R/W (as an example, and please excuse my current fixation with the colour combination) ever make a successful control list because of it's lack of quality bulk draw? Or at least always feel inferior? It has the removal in spades.

I consider my Xenagos list a control list, but it works because I'm running 17 pieces of removal mostly attached to bodies, Xenagos almost makes anything except a Birds of Paradise dangerous and he also breaks draw spells like Life's Legacy in half.

So ya, quality draw, removal and a win-con basically right?

Offline Profile  

Post subject: Re: What is key to a more traditional control list?
AgePosted: 2015-Nov-17 11:45 pm 

I've come to the conclusion that the three viable control strategies for commander are Bx sac control, Pillow Fort, and stax. You need a permanent based strategy to maintain card advantage.

That's my short pre-work answer.

Offline Profile  

AgePosted: 2015-Nov-18 2:11 am 

To expand on the above, it seems to me that control in multiplayer is fundamentally different to 1v1 control. Counterspells and spot removal are supplemental instead of central. They are card disadvantage and must be used sparingly. Mass removal is one cornerstone, card draw is another, while repeatable measures of control (in most cases permanents) that provide card advantage are the last.