Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Dec-05 2:24 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: living death + cip abilities
AgePosted: 2008-May-05 6:07 pm 

Joined: 2007-Jul-02 2:00 pm
Age: Wyvern
Location: MA
Scenario:
Living death played, one player has Reaper King and 6 scarecrows all in his graveyard.

Question:
Can he get 6 vindicate effects?

This situation occured yesterday in a huge mp game I was semi-organizing. I ruled that yes he would have six vindicates, but just want to make sure that I am correct so that we play the correct way.

Thank you all in advance for the rules knowledge.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-06 11:03 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-Apr-09 1:32 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Yes, he has 6 Vindicate effects.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-06 6:17 pm 

Joined: 2008-Jan-11 10:50 am
Age: Wyvern
Location: Philadelphia, PA
i would have to disagree. reaper king says when another scarecrow comes into play, which means it needs to already be in play when the other scarecrows come in. and since living death puts all the creatures into play at the same time the reaper king won't be in play when the other scarecrows come into play. so no vindicate effects.

_________________
L1 Judge.

Generals: Sharuum, Wydwen the Biting Gale, Doran the Siege Tower, Rafiq, Kresh, Vorosh, Teysa, Ramirez DiPietro, Karona


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-06 8:07 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-21 9:45 am
Age: Drake
I'm pretty sure all the creatures coming into play see each other.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-07 10:57 am 

Joined: 2007-Jul-02 2:00 pm
Age: Wyvern
Location: MA
Adding on to my first question...
when are targets chosen for the vindicate effects?
If they are chosen after the resolution of living death then I finally think I understand the rules pretty well.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-07 11:45 am 

Joined: 2006-Jul-14 12:02 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Wherever I may roam
kube wrote:
Adding on to my first question...
when are targets chosen for the vindicate effects?
If they are chosen after the resolution of living death then I finally think I understand the rules pretty well.


The next time a player would receive priority after the spell has resolved, we check the state based effects (as we always do at such a juncture), then put abilities that have triggered onto the stack, AP, NAP1, NAP2,..., order. Targets are chosen when the abilities are put onto the stack.

And yes, Reaper King will see all other come into play, just as Sek'Kuar in play before living death will see all other non-tokens in play under your control go to the 'yard.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-07 2:04 pm 

Joined: 2007-Jul-02 2:00 pm
Age: Wyvern
Location: MA
Thank you Nomad, you have cleared up all confusion with this situation. :D


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-07 3:23 pm 

Joined: 2008-Jan-11 10:50 am
Age: Wyvern
Location: Philadelphia, PA
upon lengthy discussion with my fellow local judges we determined that they will trigger, for the same reason that when you play a harmonic sliver it blows up an artifact or enchantment for itself.

_________________
L1 Judge.

Generals: Sharuum, Wydwen the Biting Gale, Doran the Siege Tower, Rafiq, Kresh, Vorosh, Teysa, Ramirez DiPietro, Karona


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-08 11:14 am 

Joined: 2007-Jul-02 2:00 pm
Age: Wyvern
Location: MA
Sorry guys.....last question pertaining to this topic.....
One player had a Clone in the graveyard when the living death resolved.
What happens to Clone?
I only ask this because it seems that the timing is different than that of Reaper King. Clone says as it comes into play choose another creature and become a copy of it.
So I guess the real question would be what creatures does the Clone see, if any?

As always, thank you all in advance for the help.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
AgePosted: 2008-May-08 12:13 pm 

Joined: 2008-Jan-11 10:50 am
Age: Wyvern
Location: Philadelphia, PA
the clone won't see any other creatures and will be a 0/0, baring any global effects that increase his p/t, and the at the SBE check after the resolution of living death he will be put into the yard.

_________________
L1 Judge.

Generals: Sharuum, Wydwen the Biting Gale, Doran the Siege Tower, Rafiq, Kresh, Vorosh, Teysa, Ramirez DiPietro, Karona


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 64 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: