Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2014-Sep-23 9:24 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-21 3:44 am 

Joined: 2012-Sep-21 6:29 am
Age: Wyvern
RC!

I've had some discussion in my group about the new extort mechanic coming to play in a few weeks.

I'd like to ask you what the official ruling is regarding this triggered ability for which you pay either white or black mana. Does this exclude these cards from decks based on the commander colours?

For instance I'm playing a Bruna, Light of Alabaster deck and I'd like to play Blind Obedience (1W - Enchantment, Extort, Artifacts and creatures your opponent control enter the battlefield tapped.) Rule technically it isn't a mana source nor is it an activated ability for which you pay mana. Therefore you should be able to play it in this deck. However logically the arguement can be made that this is a multicolored card that should only rear it's head in black colour containing commander decks.

Could you guys consider taking a formal stance on this and/or update the rules to reflect this? This'll take me less time going over the rules with everybody once this card or any with Extort go into EDH decks.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-21 3:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Sep-16 3:17 am
Age: Elder Dragon
They have, scroll down on the thread list.

_________________
( (mc^2) (rt) (U+pV) )^3
My EDH Cube


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-21 3:48 am 

Joined: 2012-Sep-21 6:29 am
Age: Wyvern
Tim Proctor wrote:
They have, scroll down on the thread list.


I've been awake for too long :( I just saw the thread xD


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-21 3:51 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Nov-24 5:10 am
Age: Wyvern
I think an announcement or a clarification in the official rules section might still be a good idea.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-21 4:07 am 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
An announcement will come out with the Banned List, sometime this weekend, not later than midnight Sunday night.

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-22 1:28 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Mar-12 3:20 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Sheldon wrote:
An announcement will come out with the Banned List, sometime this weekend, not later than midnight Sunday night.

Nice to know... But it would be much more helpful if the announcement could be made *before* the pre-release
I'm sure plenty of us have extort cards on our "Wishlist", but would prefer not to spend time and cards trading for cards who's legality is still up in the air.

Also, the prerelease is when all the players you don't see too often reappear, and since I'm the local judge and "rules guru", I just *know* I'll have 30 people asking me this very question on Saturday. I'd very much prefer to not have to answer "Well, currently you can play your Crypt Ghast... but tomorrow that might change." Let's just say that answer will not be appreciated, despite being true. ;)

So... can we please have the official answer by Friday night at midnight? Pretty please?

_________________
Current Commander Decks:
8.5 Tails
Derevi, Empyrial Tactician
Grenzo, Dungeon Warden
Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker
Phenax, God of Deception
Prime Speaker Zegana

My general commander philosophy: Stealing your opponent's degenerate cards is far more satisfying then playing your own.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-23 12:30 pm 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2006-May-24 10:14 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
kaldare wrote:

So... can we please have the official answer by Friday night at midnight? Pretty please?


We are indeed hoping to have it up Friday midnight.

_________________
"Leave the gun. Take the cannolis."


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-25 10:54 am 

Joined: 2012-Apr-19 6:19 am
Age: Dragon
Any news on this? We've got a midnight prerelease happening here very shortly and it'd be nice to be able to answer this question if it comes up.

_________________
Patrick Sullivan wrote:
Your opponent might not be a rocket scientist when he kills you with Primeval Titan but you didn't exactly discover time travel by deciding to Mana Leak it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-25 11:03 am 

Joined: 2012-Apr-11 7:17 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Where the heck are you? Its 4 PM here :)

_________________
sir squab wrote:
My... history of buying Magic cards is probably a tapestry of bad financial decisions >_>


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Jan-25 11:17 am 

Joined: 2012-Apr-19 6:19 am
Age: Dragon
Good old Blighty. :p

_________________
Patrick Sullivan wrote:
Your opponent might not be a rocket scientist when he kills you with Primeval Titan but you didn't exactly discover time travel by deciding to Mana Leak it.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Unban PH Thread.
AgePosted: 2013-Mar-12 12:13 pm 

Joined: 2013-Mar-12 10:03 am
Age: Egg
EXTORT
With the release of Gatecrash, we'd like to clarify our stance on Extort by confirming that, as always, reminder text has no effect on color identity. Extort adds no colored mana symbols to a card outside of its reminder text, and therefore is legal for play in Commander decks of any color or colors (as long as the card it appears on is otherwise legal, of course). There will be no updates to the rules in the foreseeable future that affect how Extort works in Commander.[/quote]
Even if extort is a reminder text it still shows that it is a multicolor ability other wise i should be able to run a pact of negation in a mono white deck because it reminds me that i have to pay 3uu or i lose the game correct


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Unban PH Thread.
AgePosted: 2013-Mar-12 12:17 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Aug-20 7:49 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: New Hampshire
1985CAMARO wrote:
Quote:
EXTORT
With the release of Gatecrash, we'd like to clarify our stance on Extort by confirming that, as always, reminder text has no effect on color identity. Extort adds no colored mana symbols to a card outside of its reminder text, and therefore is legal for play in Commander decks of any color or colors (as long as the card it appears on is otherwise legal, of course). There will be no updates to the rules in the foreseeable future that affect how Extort works in Commander.

Even if extort is a reminder text it still shows that it is a multicolor ability other wise i should be able to run a pact of negation in a mono white deck because it reminds me that i have to pay 3uu or i lose the game correct

Let me start by saying Welcome Camaro.

I'm pretty sure you didn't intend to post this here.

As for your question, the answer is no. Reminder text is the italics in parenthesis, as appear on extort cards. The text on Pact of Negation is rules text, and is subject to the color identity rules.

_________________
You bring dishonor to family. PERFORM SUDOKU!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Mar-12 12:33 pm 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Jan-05 12:58 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Merged with the latest extort thread. Sid's got it right, so I guess that's it. *speeds away in 1st gear, no muffler, so dope*


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Another Unban PH Thread.
AgePosted: 2013-Mar-12 2:04 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-Feb-07 4:15 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Sid the Chicken wrote:
1985CAMARO wrote:
Quote:
EXTORT
With the release of Gatecrash, we'd like to clarify our stance on Extort by confirming that, as always, reminder text has no effect on color identity. Extort adds no colored mana symbols to a card outside of its reminder text, and therefore is legal for play in Commander decks of any color or colors (as long as the card it appears on is otherwise legal, of course). There will be no updates to the rules in the foreseeable future that affect how Extort works in Commander.

Even if extort is a reminder text it still shows that it is a multicolor ability other wise i should be able to run a pact of negation in a mono white deck because it reminds me that i have to pay 3uu or i lose the game correct

Let me start by saying Welcome Camaro.

I'm pretty sure you didn't intend to post this here.

As for your question, the answer is no. Reminder text is the italics in parenthesis, as appear on extort cards. The text on Pact of Negation is rules text, and is subject to the color identity rules.

Well, no DUH!

_________________
thaumaturge wrote:
Actually, Uktabi_Kong and Kemev are practically the royal family of deck doctoring on this forum, and it's generally a good idea to listen to just about anything they have to say.


1st Place in the Gabriel Angelfire Iron Chef EDH Competition


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Extort and you!
AgePosted: 2013-Mar-12 2:53 pm 

Joined: 2011-Apr-28 9:58 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Damidhol, Tuhel
Ban Ki-moon wrote:
Merged with the latest extort thread. Sid's got it right, so I guess that's it. *speeds away in 1st gear, no muffler, so dope*


Low-Ride-ah, don't travel too fast -
Take a little trip,
Take a little trip,
Take a little trip, and see...

Pass that bong over here, tail pipe's too hot for my lips...and yes, extortion was involved I KNOW IT

_________________
Former StarCityGames.com writer.

Most famous article: Breaking Phage

http://www.starcitygames.com/magic/misc ... Phage.html

Personal Favorite: pWN3D: Recollections of Spectacular Defeats in Multiplayer Magic

http://www.starcitygames.com/magic/mult ... Magic.html


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: