Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2019-Dec-09 1:08 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2011-Jun-09 9:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-May-04 6:05 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Wisconsin
Suppose I have Maelstrom Nexus and cast Enigma Sphinx. From my understanding, you can't have multiple cascades on a single creature, but I'm unsure. If that is the case, then when I cast Enigma Sphinx I will only cascade once right?

Thanks for the help.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2011-Jun-09 9:30 pm 

Joined: 2010-Sep-11 12:19 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Quote:
5/1/2009 If the first spell you cast in a turn already has cascade, both cascade abilities will trigger separately. Deal with them one at a time: First one cascade ability will resolve, and you'll cast the applicable card if you want. That new spell will resolve. Then the other cascade ability will resolve in the same way. Finally, the original spell will resolve.


from http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/ ... eid=179540


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2011-Jun-10 10:02 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-May-04 6:05 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Wisconsin
Huh... I thought Wizards removed the rules part of the gatherer when they updated it a couple years ago. Anyways thanks!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2011-Jun-10 11:42 am 

Joined: 2010-Mar-26 5:45 pm
Age: Dragon
702.82b If a spell has multiple instances of cascade, each triggers separately.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-08 8:20 pm 

Joined: 2012-Mar-31 11:52 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Necroing time. I didn't see this in the rules explicitly, but it's quite possible I missed it. I think I know the answer but I want to make sure. If I cast a cascade spell and hit something with an additional cost, like a kicker, can I pay the kicker cost, and if so, does that affect whether I can cast it in the first place? For example, if I cast Enigma Sphinx and hit Rite of Replication, can i cast it for "free" but pay the kicker cost anyway? My hunch is yes I can, but like I said, I'm not sure.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-08 8:38 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2011-May-04 9:09 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Saskatchewan
Still trying to find the actual quoted ruling on that one, but yes, you can pay the kicker at any time whenver something would cast a spell for you for free, key word being cast. Not copy, gain control of, etc etc. Makes Thicket Elemental quite amusing with cascade.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-08 11:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2011-May-04 9:09 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Saskatchewan
Quote:
702.31. Kicker
702.31a Kicker is a static ability that functions while the spell with kicker is on the stack. “Kicker [cost]” means “You may pay an additional [cost] as you cast this spell.” Paying a spell’s kicker cost(s) follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e–g.


Which leads into this FAQ answer and clarification:

Quote:
* If you cast a card "without paying its mana cost," you can't pay any alternative costs, such as evoke or the alternative cost provided by the morph ability. If it has {X} in its mana cost, X must be 0. However, you can pay optional additional costs, such as kicker, and you must still pay mandatory additional costs, such as the one on Fling.


Though, the real funny story with this is that a friend of mine used Cascade a few months ago and went right into a Fling with something he desperately needed as a blocker, so it was kind of a wasted ability. The luck he has with this kind of thing is absolutely mind blowing. We keep telling him he could win nationals if he just knew how to shuffle better.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-09 1:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Feb-11 7:00 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Bituminous Blast...

cascade into...

terminate...

Thsi is something you never wanna see. I did once and it hosed my combo that woulda won me the game.

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-09 1:48 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Jul-18 9:59 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
You guys all know cascade says "You may cast", right???

_________________
"Degenerate, unfun decks generally come from degenerate, unfun players in my experience." - Cthulus Thrall

"- if this spell is played ten times in a given game then I suggest you warm up the tar and pluck some chickens" - tarnar

The internet's great at making noise, and poor at operating pants. There's gonna be half-dressed mobs screeching half-assed arguments for the rest of the 21st century - Kemev


Top
 Online Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-09 4:39 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2011-May-04 9:09 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Saskatchewan
Viperion wrote:
You guys all know cascade says "You may cast", right???


Ukkmaster wrote:
, so it was kind of a wasted ability.


The hinting being, it was wasted and thus never used. :facepalm:


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-09 5:43 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2012-May-11 4:47 pm
Age: Drake
Why would you ask if creatures can have multiple cascades? Maelstrom Wanderer has proven it to be possible.

_________________
I propose that to solve all the format's problems now and for ever, ban every card in the game that says "library", "search", "destroy", "exile", "all", "battlefield", "graveyard", "draw", "untap", or "damage" on the card. Also, anything with a semi-questionable color identity, anything that is remotely comparable to something on the banlist, and anything that brings up conflicts or loopholes in the rules.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-09 12:49 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2008-May-04 6:05 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Wisconsin
Quote:
Why would you ask if creatures can have multiple cascades? Maelstrom Wanderer has proven it to be possible.


Simple:
Because this is an old post before Maelstrom Wanderer was known information.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-10 2:43 pm 

Joined: 2008-Nov-30 12:36 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Master Baiter wrote:
Why would you ask if creatures can have multiple cascades? Maelstrom Wanderer has proven it to be possible.
:facepalm:

_________________
The Command Zone (my MTG Blog).
Commander 2015 Set Review


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-11 4:00 am 

Joined: 2011-Sep-30 6:08 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Ukkmaster wrote:
Still trying to find the actual quoted ruling on that one, but yes, you can pay the kicker at any time whenver something would cast a spell for you for free, key word being cast. Not copy, gain control of, etc etc. Makes Thicket Elemental quite amusing with cascade.

Casting a spell without paying its mana cost is casting it with an Alternate Cost. You must still pay any additional costs for the spell (and it still costs at least 3 when there is a Trinisphere in play).

Kicker, entwine, replicate and friends are all additional costs and must be paid if you want to use them when casting a spell with any alternate cost (Cascade, Fist of Suns, or Dream Halls all work the same way).

_________________
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
Cryocerete (sp?)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cascade question
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-20 12:27 pm 

Joined: 2009-May-08 6:45 am
Age: Dragon
Location: Reading, UK
crokaycete wrote:
Casting a spell without paying its mana cost is casting it with an Alternate Cost. You must still pay any additional costs for the spell (and it still costs at least 3 when there is a Trinisphere in play).

Kicker, entwine, replicate and friends are all additional costs and must be paid if you want to use them when casting a spell with any alternate cost (Cascade, Fist of Suns, or Dream Halls all work the same way).


Just as a clarification, Replicate isn't an additional cost, it's a triggered ability upon casting the spell much like Mirari's ability. This is relevant if Trinisphere is in play as you will have to pay 2U for the original spell and then you may pay extra when the replicate trigger resolves.

/endnitpick

_________________
Joz wrote:
srsly..dont troll

Sinis wrote:
4. Jellyfish


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: