Login | Register


All times are UTC - 7 hours


It is currently 2014-Jul-24 2:41 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: what means by "die" in edh?
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-18 5:06 am 

Joined: 2012-May-07 6:24 pm
Age: Hatchling
if my general is moved to the general zone,is it consider as "die"?
some ability trigger when a creature is put in a graveyard,would it trigger when my general is moved to the general zone?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: what means by "die" in edh?
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-18 5:29 am 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Mar-15 2:19 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Denver, CO
No. Generals are moved to the command zone *instead* of the graveyard, so they won't trigger "dies" abilities like Grave Pact or Fecundity.

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: what means by "die" in edh?
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-18 5:33 am 

Joined: 2012-May-07 6:24 pm
Age: Hatchling
l want to make it sure,is there any differnce between "die" and "put it into graveyard"?
would Angelic Destiny trigger if it is enchanted my general and is moved to commander zone?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: what means by "die" in edh?
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-18 5:46 am 
EDH Rules Committee
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Mar-15 2:19 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Denver, CO
dust21 wrote:
l want to make it sure,is there any differnce between "die" and "put it into graveyard"?
would Angelic Destiny trigger if it is enchanted my general and is moved to commander zone?


There is no difference - "dies" is just another way of saying "put into graveyard from play."

So Angelic Destiny will not trigger if it enchants your general and you send them to the command zone.

_________________


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: what means by "die" in edh?
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-18 7:19 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2009-Aug-20 7:49 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: New Hampshire
obsidiandice wrote:
Angelic Destiny will not trigger if it enchants your general and you send them to the command zone.

I removed Angelic Destiny from my Uril deck for precisely this reason.

_________________
You bring dishonor to family. PERFORM SUDOKU!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: what means by "die" in edh?
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-18 1:48 pm 
User avatar

Joined: 2010-Aug-06 1:54 am
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: USA
obsidiandice wrote:
No. Generals are moved to the command zone *instead* of the graveyard, so they won't trigger "dies" abilities like Grave Pact or Fecundity.

Ya know... with just about every other card I remember that, but never once have I or my playgroup remembered that clause for Grave Pact triggers. At the very least we're consistent about it :facepalm:

_________________
My EDH Generals:
~ Mayael the Anima - Mayael the 5-Power Stompy
~ Marath, Will of the Wild - An EDH Teacher deck (Tribal Beasts)
~ Rhys the Redeemed - Tokens... Why do they keep coming!?
~ Bosh, Iron Golem - Legend of the Iron Giants
~ Damia, Sage of Stone - All Creatures Great & Small


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: what means by "die" in edh?
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-19 7:59 am 
User avatar

Joined: 2007-Sep-10 2:51 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
Location: Rittman, OH USA
TheDoctor wrote:
obsidiandice wrote:
No. Generals are moved to the command zone *instead* of the graveyard, so they won't trigger "dies" abilities like Grave Pact or Fecundity.

Ya know... with just about every other card I remember that, but never once have I or my playgroup remembered that clause for Grave Pact triggers. At the very least we're consistent about it :facepalm:

This board really DOES need a "Like" button. We are the same damn way.

_________________
My card alter blog: The Phyrexian Renaissance


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: what means by "die" in edh?
AgePosted: 2012-Jun-19 11:02 am 

Joined: 2009-Apr-21 3:38 pm
Age: Elder Dragon
yawg07 wrote:
TheDoctor wrote:
obsidiandice wrote:
No. Generals are moved to the command zone *instead* of the graveyard, so they won't trigger "dies" abilities like Grave Pact or Fecundity.

Ya know... with just about every other card I remember that, but never once have I or my playgroup remembered that clause for Grave Pact triggers. At the very least we're consistent about it :facepalm:

This board really DOES need a "Like" button. We are the same damn way.

Funny thing... my first inclination was to like this post... then realized...

_________________
3DH4LIF3


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: