Login | Register

All times are UTC - 7 hours

It is currently 2014-Nov-25 11:18 pm

Post subject: Does Anyone Play with Sideboards?
AgePosted: 2011-Dec-03 12:55 am 
EDH Rules Committee

Personally, I have never seen anyone play Commander with the optional sideboard rule. I assume this is the case for most people, but wanted to check if it's more common than I give it credit for.

I stopped carrying sideboards for my casual decks long before I started playing Commander, because it's a hassle to keep them separate, you don't usually want to take the time between games, and sideboarding often feels a bit like cheating in casual games anyways.

So is there any reason for this rule to remain on the books? Does anyone actually use it?

Offline Profile  

Post subject: Re: Does Anyone Play with Sideboards?
AgePosted: 2011-Dec-03 1:04 am 

I do it to play with Wishes.

Aside from that, I could imagine using it for my Oros deck just to add more variance by siding out between 5 and 10 random nonmana cards each game. But I don't do that. I don't believe I've ever encountered anybody who uses it for anything other than a Wish-board.

Offline Profile  

AgePosted: 2011-Dec-03 3:46 am 

Just for wishboard, used to put anti-graveyard cards there so that i didn't need to dedicate maindeck slots for it, but it turns out almost every time i sit down i boarded them in so i just moved them to the main.

also occasionally i'll use it for a spawnsireboard, it turns out 20 mana is pretty easy to do with him in play, and having ulamog and kozilek be mostly un-briberyable has been a boon.

Offline Profile  

AgePosted: 2011-Dec-03 7:15 am 

I don't use them - don't know of anybody locally who does.

Offline Profile  

AgePosted: 2011-Dec-03 8:55 am 
EDH Rules Committee