Login | Register

All times are UTC - 7 hours

It is currently 2019-Nov-18 10:06 am

Post subject: Rhys the Redeemed, Tokens and Control for Multiplayer
AgePosted: 2013-Aug-09 1:43 am 

Hello All! :)

I am a new commander player (but not new to mtg by any means) that recently made a deck and I would love some opinions on how it could potentially evolve.

My general is Rhys and the shell I've been putting together for the past six months is a flavor combination of land destruction/landlock combos, tokens for beatdown, and wraths and enchantments for control. There are a lot of blue players in my meta game and we generally play 4 player games after draft or FNM to pass the extra time, so a lot of my deck is centered toward either attempting to punish control or to be one of the last ones standing in a 4 player game. The deck started as pretty much completely token producers and tutoring, but after a few months of playing in my meta I have evolved the deck to almost its final form with need of a few flavor touches.

Rhys is a great general and can be played on turn 1, one of the main reasons why I picked him. I built the deck because I had a foil voice of resurgence and a foil temple garden consequently, so I figured I'd go with rhys because he is especially good in multiplayer.

Karmic Guide, Eternal Witness, Sun titan, Reveillark and Genesis help keep my reanimator strategy while being able to potentially cast a tooth and nail entwined once or twice every turn with the right cards in play. Resilience in my meta is important as fast decks get punished, my deck plays 6 wraths and that is on the light side, most decks in my meta run 8-10 especially if playing white. The idea behind my wraths was to be able to have an answer to every kind of permanent I could, without playing armageddon.