Login | Register

All times are UTC - 7 hours

It is currently 2019-Oct-16 5:40 pm

Post subject: Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind Is Epic (Big spells no combo)
AgePosted: 2012-Dec-26 6:18 am 

Good evening, I am Unconditional Love! Thanks for joining in for a review of my favorite general: Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind. I've been playing MTG for 14 years and for the last 6 of them only EDH. So much so that I sold most of my collection (since prices rose like crazy) and was able to buy a motorcycle and almost all the cards I want for my EDH ultra-mega-giga-turbo sexy collection where I've left my most precious cards (one of each) so that I would be able to build almost any deck that I'd like. I especially LOVE Niv and have many modes for him - wizards tribal, combo-bombo, ultra fortress and this one - big spells, no combo, ultra high velocity.

My playgroup consists of 9 players and old friends. Generals are: The Mimeoplasm (mostly good stuff and a bit of combo), Shaarum the hegemon (mainly combo and ANNOYING cards like Magister Sphyinx), Maelstrom Wanderer (good stuff), Karador, Ghost Chieftain (obvious), Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord (reanimation and 1 combo), Jor Kadeen, The Prevailer (aggro tron), Kaalia of the vast (very, very, very well tuned good stuff), Trostani, Selesnya's Voice (tokens) and Me ( I play Niv and Horde Of Notions).

There is less and less degeneration in our group and I don't play my combo build on purpose - the more I play, the more I tend to prefer synergy plays over combo 1-shots. This build is made especially with Epic EXperiment in mind - I've included some sub-optimal cards for the fun factor of playing them through the experiment (e.g. Bribery, Aquire)

So here is the lovely list I've compiled:
General:
Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind
Countermagic:
Pact of Negation
Force Of Will
Mindbreak Trap
Foil
Mana Drain
Counterspell
Double Negative
Counterflux
Cryptic Command
Overwhelming Intellect
Time Stop
Turns:
Time Warp
Walk The Eons
Beacon of Tomorrows
Time Stretch